delco dui law christopher hemmel delaware county pa pennsylvania drunk driving dui dwi defense attorney lawyer and counselor at law
delco dui law christopher hemmel delaware county pa pennsylvania drunk driving dui dwi defense attorney lawyer and counselor at law
delco dui law christopher hemmel delaware county pa pennsylvania drunk driving dui dwi defense attorney lawyer and counselor at law
delco dui law christopher hemmel delaware county pa pennsylvania drunk driving dui dwi defense attorney lawyer and counselor at law

Pennsylvania DUI Law - Tier 1 - General Impairment

delaware county pa pennsylvania drunk driving defense attorney lawyer, delaware county pa pennsylvania dui dwi defense attorney lawyer, ridley township pa pennsylvania drunk driving defense attorney lawyer, ridley township pa pennsylvania dui dwi defense attorney lawyer, media pa pennsylvania drunk driving defense attorney lawyer, media pa pennsylvania dui dwi defense attorney lawyer, chester pa pennsylvania drunk driving defense attorney lawyer, chester pa pennsylvania dui dwi defense attorney lawyer

A defendant is placed in the Tier 1 category if there is no personal injury and no property damage resulting from operation of the vehicle while under the influence of alcohol. The BAC must be between .08 and .099 to fit onto this tier.

Generally speaking, only 5% of all DUI arrests in the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania fall into the Tier 1 category.

First Offense

Upon conviction for the first offense, a Tier 1 offender will not lose their driving license, will be allowed up to six months of probation, shall pay a $300 fine and shall attend alcohol, highway and safety school if the court so orders.

Second Offense

Upon conviction for the second offense, a Tier 1 offender will lose their driving license for 12 months, will be sentenced to serve between 5 days and six months in prison, shall pay a $300 to $2,500 fine, shall attend alcohol, highway and safety school if the court so orders and, upon the reinstatement of driving privileges, shall install an ignition interlock system which will remain on the vehicle for a period of one year.

Third or Subsequent Offense

Upon conviction for the third offense, a Tier 1 offender will lose their driving license for 12 months, will be sentenced to serve between 10 days and two years in prison, shall pay a $500 to $5,000 fine, shall attend alcohol, highway and safety school if the court so orders and, upon the reinstatement of driving privileges, shall install an ignition interlock system which will remain on the vehicle for a period of one year.

ARD is available as an option for Tier 1 First Offenses

If you have been arrested for DUI in Pennsylvania call 610-724-3382 to obtain representation in your legal matter